European Competitive Telecommunications Association

 Tuesday 28 November 2017

08:15-09:15 Registration, morning coffee and networking sponsored by 11 150


Gijs PHOELICH, Chairman, ECTA

09:30-11:00 SESSION 1 - Drivers for investment in telecommunication infrastructure 

Panellists discuss the role of competition and regulation in investment decisions, the formulation and approval requirements of business cases plus co-investment, state aid and the impact on private investment. 

Chair: Nico GROVE, Co-Founder, Di2
Kamila KLOC, Deputy Head of Cabinet, Vice-President Ansip, European Commission
Thomas REYNAUD, Deputy CEO, Iliad
Peter GRUETER, CFO, Fastweb SpA.
Manuel KOHNSTAMM, Senior Vice President and Chief Corporate Affairs Officer, Liberty Global
Harald GRUBER, Head of the Digital Economy division at the Projects Directorate, European Investment Bank
Verena WEBER, Economist/Policy Analyst - Digital Economy Policy Division, OECD  

11:00-11:20 KEYNOTE SPEECH

Sébastien SORIANO, Chairman of Arcep and Chairman of the Body of European Regulators for Electronic Communications (BEREC)

11:20-11:50 Coffee Break sponsored by 11 150

11:50-13:00 SESSION 2 - Wholesale access solutions

Panellists discuss what combinations of remedies deliver effective and sustainable competition for business to flourish in consumer and B2B markets. In addition, panellists consider what constitutes success or failure of remedies from regulator and business perspectives and explore the role the ladder of investment has played until now and the part it will play in future.

Chair: Richard CADMAN, Director, SPC Network
Anthony WHELAN, Director for Electronic Communications Networks & Services, DG CONNECT, European Commission
Michaël TRABBIA, CEO, Orange Belgium
Antonis TZORTZAKAKIS, Chief Officer Fixed Line & B2B, WIND Hellas
Emmanuel FOREST, Executive Vice President for Institutional Affairs, Bouygues Group
Tiziana TALEVI, Director Regulatory Affairs, Fastweb S.p.A

13:00-14:30 Networking delegate lunch sponsored by 11 150

14:30-15:50 - TWIN TRACK - choose one of the following two panel sessions:

SESSION 3a: How challenging are non-competitive oligopolies for regulation?

Panellists discuss the adequacy of the joint SMP approach plus new ideas such as Unilateral Market Power, symmetrical regulation while considering relevant cases.

Chair: Felipe FLÓREZ DUNCAN, Partner, Oxera
Reinald KRÜGER, Head of Unit, Markets (Unit B.3), DG CONNECT, European Commission
Johan KEETELAAR, Director Telecommunications, Transport and Postal Services Department, Authority for Consumers & Markets (ACM)
Jacques BONIFAY, CEO, Transatel
Belén LOPEZ GRANADOS, Head of Regulatory Affairs, MasMovil

SESSION 3b - B2B markets in the future Regulatory Framework

Panellists discuss the state of competition in European Business communications markets and examine the merits or shortcomings of the new European Electronic Communications Code in addressing B2B markets. Should there be different regulatory treatment for micro-enterprises and SMEs e.g. for consumer protection, switching and contracts vs large enterprises? How should regulation of IoT and M2M be best addressed and should it be included in the new Code?

Chair: Danielle JACOBS, Chairman, INTUG
(International Telecommunications Users Group)
Rita WEZENBEEK, Head of Unit, Antitrust Telecoms, DG COMPETITION, European Commission
Alex GOLDBLUM, CEO, Eurofiber Group
Emmanuel MICOL, Chief Marketing Officer and VP Customer Experience, Bouygues Telecom Entreprises
Kalman TIBOLDI, Chief Business Innovation Officer, TVH Group NV
Barney LANE, Director of Regulatory Affairs, Colt Technology Services


15:50-16:20 Coffee Break sponsored by 11 150

16:20-16:40 KEYNOTE SPEECH

Johannes GUNGL, CEO for Telecommunications and Postal Services, RTR Austria and incoming BEREC Chair 2018


16:45-18:15 - TWIN TRACK - choose one of the following two panel sessions:

SESSION 4a: SMP, symmetry or both?

Panellists discuss whether and how the interaction between SMP and symmetrical regulation enhances competition plus the benefits and limitations of each. In addition, they review whether they are complementary, substitutable or mutually exclusive?

Chair: Tim COWEN, Partner, Preiskel & Co
Vesa TERÄVÄ, Head of Electronic Communications Policy unit, DG CONNECT, European Commission
Philippe DISTLER, Member of the Board, ARCEP
Ben WRESCHNER, Head of Network and Economic Regulation, Vodafone Group
Josée VAN DEN BERG, Manager Regulatory Affairs, Tele2 Netherlands AB
Chiara SCIMEMI, Head of EU Regulatory Affairs, WIND Hellas

SESSION 4b - Services and applications: What fate in the future EU regulatory framework?

Panellists discuss whether it is opportune to regulate services and applications (including M2M and IoT) under the EU framework for electronic communications. What policy objectives should be pursued and what are the best ways to achieve them? In particular, how should one regulate (i) contracts (ii) number portability (iii) interoperability and (iv) data protection?

Chair: Jon FELL, Partner, Osborne Clarke
Claire BURY, Deputy Director-General, DG CONNECT, European Commission
Kevin MARTIN, Vice President for Global and Mobile Access Policy, Facebook
Camilla BUSTANI, Director, International, Ofcom
Mario REHSE, Head of Public Affairs, United Internet AG
Guillermo BELTRA, Head of Legal and Economic Department, BEUC

18:15-19:30 Cocktail Reception sponsored by PLAY 180x120

Continue to Conference Day 2 Agenda >>

Please note: While every reasonable effort will be made to adhere to the advertised package, ECTA reserves the right to change conference content, speakers, dates, sites or location or omit conference features, as it deems necessary without penalty and in such situations no refunds, part refunds or alternative offers shall be made.

Share this page

2017 Conference Sponsors



preiskel logo


11 150

Di2 200

White Case logo RGB


SPC Network logo 200



PLAY 180x120


MLex logo

 WIND 200pixel


Plum logo rgb

 GOS Consulting







  • Masmovil_April_2022.jpg
  • logo_verde.png
  • sita.gif
  • logo_Digi.png
  • Sky_Master_Brand_Logo_SMALL_RGB-Ireland.png
  • Imagotipo_Horizontal-POSITIVA-RGB.png
  • Lumen_Logo_Blue_Black_RGB.png
  • Logo_telecable_para_fondo_blanco_circulo_arriba.png
  • Fastweb_LogoPiatto_Giallo.png
  • LOGO_VERDE_YOIGO_Mesa_de_trabajo_1.jpg
  • ispa_logo_60_high.jpg
  • tusr-logo-color-1-en.png
  • BABTO_2.png
  • aota_logo.png
  • NOWO_Logo_assinatura_RGB-01.png
  • Transatel_corporate_logo.png
  • ukcta.gif
  • Sky_Master_Brand_Logo_SMALL_RGB-Italy.png
  • sol-logo-2.png
  • LOGO_EOLO_300pixels.jpg
  • aiip.gif
  • VATM-Logo-Claim_Eng.jpg
  • Bouygues_Telecom.png
  • logo_R_negro.jpg
  • LOGO_LLAMAYA_02.png
  • LOGO_CMYK_PEPE_Mesa_de_trabajo_1_copia.jpg
  • Logo_LEBARA_LLAMAYA_500x460-04_copia.jpg
  • t2.gif
  • turk.gif
  • 11.jpg
  • Colt_logo_Teal_RGB_2.png
  • huawei_feb_2012-_60_high.jpg
  • Eurofiber_logo_60_high.jpg
  • Neterra-Logo2017.jpg
  • Birdandbirdlogo_60_high.jpg
  • PLAY_logo_May_2013_60_high_v2.jpg
  • Logo_Groupe_Iliad.png