European Competitive Telecommunications Association

Wednesday 9 November 2016

08:30-09:30 Registration and networking

CONFERENCE CHAIR: James Allen, Partner, Analysys Mason


Gijs Phoelich, Chairman, ECTA

09:35-09:50 KEYNOTE SPEECH

Minister Alexander De Croo, Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for Development Cooperation, Digital Agenda, Post and Telecommunications for Belgium

09:50-11:00 SESSION 1 - What policies for the ‘Internet of Everything’?

Do we need new networks optimised for IoE as well as 5G? Are those networks going to be pan-European? Is a dedicated spectrum allocation needed e.g. in the 700MHz band?  Are the numbering and standards issues in the proposed framework enough? Do we require dedicated ranges/pan-EU numbering? Do we need to ‘fix’ other areas of regulation? Is GDPR enough or do we need more action on privacy and security?

Chair: Jacques Bughin, Senior Partner, McKinsey and Director, McKinsey Global Institute
Thibault Kleiner, Deputy Head of Cabinet of Commissioner Günther H. Oettinger, European Commission
Harold Smeeman, Director Business Development, Eurofiber Holding BV
John E. Frank, Vice President, EU Government Affairs, Microsoft Corporation
Dr. Thierry Lestable, Vice-Chairman, The LoRa™ Alliance
Dr. Abayomi Otubushin, Corporate and Governmental Affairs, Representative Office Brussels, BMW Group 

11:00-11:15 KEYNOTE SPEECH

Sébastien Soriano, Chairman, ARCEP and incoming BEREC Chair 2017

11:15-11:45 COFFEE BREAK

11:45-13:00 SESSION 2 - Competition, regulation and investment

  • Sector specific regulation – Are the Commission’s proposals for a more symmetric access regime and the revised approach to wholesale access obligations for SMP operators the right way to go? 
  • Is separation of operators’ wholesale and retail businesses going to be more prevalent, is it needed and sufficient to preserve an incentive to invest while ensuring competition?

Chair: Francesco Liberatore, Partner, Squire Patton Boggs
Professor Tommaso Valletti, Chief Competition Economist, DG COMPETITION, European Commission
Andrew Entwistle, Founding Partner, New Street Research
Simon Söder, Partner, Antin Infrastructure Partners
Dalibor Vavruska, Managing Director, Global Head of Digital Connectivity Strategy and CEEMEA Telecom, Citi
Harald Gruber, Head of the Digital Economy Division, European Investment Bank (EIB)

13:00-14:30 LUNCH

sponsored by WIND Hellas small

TWIN TRACK - choice of one of the following two panel sessions:

14:30-15:50 SESSION 3A: Co-investment models

Will co-investment be a solution in all countries or only in limited sub-national areas and if so why?  How much complexity will it add in relation to assessing whether the conditions of co-investment are FRND or whether to mandate wholesale access for third parties?

Chair: Felipe Flórez Duncan, Partner, Oxera
Philippe Distler, Member of the Board, ARCEP
Vesa Terävä, Head of "Electronic Communications Policy" unit, DG CONNECT, European Commission
Vianney Hennes, Director of the Representation to the European institutions, Director European Public Affairs, Orange France Telecom Group
Ben Wreschner, Head of Network and Economic Regulation, Vodafone Group
Johannes Theiss, Head of Brussels Office, BREKO (Bundesverband Breitbandkommunikation e.V.)

- OR -

14:30-15:50 SESSION 3B - The role and influence of platforms in the Digital age

Is there a level playing field? Are changes to the framework needed? How should regulation be better targeted and made more appropriate? How to assess ePrivacy reform?

Chair: Ireneusz Piecuch, Partner, CMS
Peter Eberl, Deputy Head of Unit, Electronic Communications Policy. DG CONNECT, European Commission
Johan Keetelaar, Director, Telecommunications, Transport and Postal Services Department, ACM
Kevin Martin, Vice President for Global and Mobile Access Policy, Facebook
Carlos Rodriguez Cocina, Director European Affairs, Head of Brussels office, Telefónica
Dalibor Vavruska, Managing Director, Global Head of Digital Connectivity Strategy and CEEMEA Telecom, Citi

15:50-16:20 COFFEE BREAK

TWIN TRACK - choice of one of the following two panel sessions: 

16:20-17:40 SESSION 4A: Splitting the bill: mobile access and network sharing

Should regulators take a more enabling role? When would commercial network sharing be a regulatory issue? Is this a competition law issue or one of spectrum licensing? How can sharing be used in three player markets? What are the implications for 5G and mobile wholesale access? 

Chair: Chris Watson, Partner, Telecoms & Technology, CMS
Marieke Scholz, Deputy Head of Unit, Antitrust Telecoms, DG COMPETITION, European Commission 
Ola Bergström, Director for International Affairs, Swedish Post and Telecom Authority (PTS)
Lisa Di Feliciantonio, Head of Public Policy and EU Affairs, Fastweb SpA
Dr. Mohammad Shahbaz, Chief Network Officer, Huawei Technologies

- OR -

16:20-17:40 SESSION 4B - Understanding Net Neutrality

Now we are moving to implementation: have legislators and BEREC set the NRAs a hard or complex task? Will there be a cost to extra complexity? Is there a risk of dis-harmonisation? Is opt-in ad-blocking in the network merely collateral damage, or a valid target?

Chairman: Jon Fell, Partner, Osborne Clarke
Frode Sørensen, Senior Adviser, Norwegian Communications Authority
Joe McNamee, Executive Director, EDRi (European Digital Rights)
László Tóth, Head of Public Policy, Europe, GSM Association
Guillermo Beltrà, Head of Legal and Economic Department, BEUC (The European Consumer Organisation)
Yannick Leboyer, Head of EMEA Strategy, Level 3 Communications

17:40-18:00 KEYNOTE SPEECH

Adina Ioana Vălean MEP, Vice President of the European Parliament and member of the EPP Group


sponsored by PLAY 180x120


Please Note: While every reasonable effort will be made to adhere to the advertised package, ECTA reserves the right to change conference content, speakers, dates, sites or location or omit conference features, as it deems necessary without penalty and in such situations no refunds, part refunds or alternative offers shall be made.

Share this page

2016 Conference Sponsors






PLAY 200x64

wind hellas 200x75




  • Transatel_corporate_logo.png
  • logo_R_negro.jpg
  • t2.gif
  • sita.gif
  • Colt_logo_Teal_RGB_2.png
  • LOGO_CMYK_PEPE_Mesa_de_trabajo_1_copia.jpg
  • Neterra-Logo2017.jpg
  • 11.jpg
  • Bouygues_Telecom.png
  • Fastweb_LogoPiatto_Giallo.png
  • VATM-Logo-Claim_Eng.jpg
  • Masmovil_April_2022.jpg
  • Imagotipo_Horizontal-POSITIVA-RGB.png
  • PLAY_logo_May_2013_60_high_v2.jpg
  • BABTO_2.png
  • LOGO_EOLO_300pixels.jpg
  • Birdandbirdlogo_60_high.jpg
  • aota_logo.png
  • ispa_logo_60_high.jpg
  • turk.gif
  • Logo_LEBARA_LLAMAYA_500x460-04_copia.jpg
  • Sky_Master_Brand_Logo_SMALL_RGB-Italy.png
  • Eurofiber_logo_60_high.jpg
  • Lumen_Logo_Blue_Black_RGB.png
  • LOGO_VERDE_YOIGO_Mesa_de_trabajo_1.jpg
  • aiip.gif
  • Sky_Master_Brand_Logo_SMALL_RGB-Ireland.png
  • Logo_telecable_para_fondo_blanco_circulo_arriba.png
  • huawei_feb_2012-_60_high.jpg
  • LOGO_LLAMAYA_02.png
  • ukcta.gif
  • sol-logo-2.png
  • tusr-logo-color-1-en.png
  • logo_Digi.png
  • Logo_Groupe_Iliad.png
  • NOWO_Logo_assinatura_RGB-01.png
  • logo_verde.png