ECTA - European Competitive Telecommunications Association
Email-page   Site-Map   Print-page  

9th ECTA Regulatory Conference 2008


Leif Zetterberg Francisco Ros Fabio Colasanti Pilar del Castillo Vera Minister Vincent Van Quickenborne Commissioner Meredith Attwell Baker Rt Hon Patricia Hewitt MP Stan Miller 

Matthias Kurth Roberto Viola Rosemary Sinclair Damien Neven Cecilio Madero Villarejo Adina-Ioana Vălean Christian Engström MEP Prof. Sokratis Katsikas

Speakers include...
Leif Zetterberg, State Secretary to the Minister for Communications, Swedish EU Presidency 2009
Francisco Ros, Secretary of State for Telecommunications and Information Society, Spanish EU Presidency 2010
Fabio Colasanti, Director General, DG Information Society and Media, European Commission
Pilar del Castillo Vera MEP, Rapporteur on the 'European Digital Agenda'
Minister Vincent Van Quickenborne, Belgian Ministry of Economics
Commissioner Meredith Attwell Baker, Federal Communications Commission (FCC)
Rt Hon Patricia Hewitt MP, Non-executive director, BT Group
Stan Miller, CEO, KPN International
Matthias Kurth, Chairman IRG and ERG 2009, European Regulators Group (ERG) and President Bundesnetzagentur (German Telecoms, Postal, Energy and Railway Regulator)
Roberto Viola, Chairman, the Radio Spectrum Policy Group (RSPG) and Secretary General, AGCOM
Rosemary Sinclair, Chairman, INTUG (International Association of Telecoms Users)
Damien Neven, Chief Economist, DG Competition, European Commission
Cecilio Madero Villarejo, Director, DG Competition, European Commission
Adina-Ioana Vălean, Vice Chairwoman, Group of the Alliance of Liberals and Democrats for Europe
Christian Engström, MEP, Swedish Pirate Party, Group of the Greens/European Free Alliance
Prof. Sokratis Katsikas, General Secretary for Communications, Ministry of Infrastructures, Transports & Networks, Greece

Topics will cover...
Setting a European Digital Agenda for 2020
What should be the key priorities for telecoms as the incoming Commission and Governments debate the agenda for the coming 10 years?
The new EU Regulatory Framework for communications
How will the new EU Framework, if approved as planned in 2009, affect regulation of the sector?
What role will the new regulators group BEREC play?
Pricing and margin squeeze in a bundled environment
How will the trend towards bundled offers such as triple or quadruple play affect pricing regimes?
To what extent is mobile broadband a complement or substitute for fixed services?
Next generation access developments and policies
How have the competitive challenges of NGA been addressed by European regulators?
What are the implications of the Commission's proposals for a Recommendation on NGA?
How should copyright be addressed in the Internet age?
Is Internet access a 'fundamental right'? What other ways are there of protecting IPR in an online environment?
Reaping the digital dividend
Does Europe need a single market for spectrum?
How will the distribution of the digital dividend affect competition in the mobile market?
State aid in fibre networks
What are the implications of the Commission's guidelines on state aid for broadband and next generation networks?
How can public and private investment best be harnessed?
Functional separation 4 years on
What lessons have been learnt from the UK and other countries about addressing market failures
through operational and structural remedies?
Termination and interconnection in an IP world
Debating the ERG's forthcoming proposals for a new regime for IP Interconnection. Could bill and keep play a role?

John Doherty Marianne Treschow Catherine Rutten Dr Iris Henseler-Unger Richard Feasey Pearse O'Donohue Gerard Boogert

Other contributors include...
John Doherty, Chair elect IRG and ERG 2010, European Regulators Group (ERG) and Chairperson ComReg
Marianne Treschow, Director General, Swedish Post and Telecom Agency, Sweden (Swedish Telecoms Regulator)
Catherine Rutten, Member of the Council, BIPT (Belgian Telecoms Regulator)
Dr Iris Henseler-Unger, Vice President, Bundesnetzagentur (German Telecoms, Postal, Energy and Railway Regulator)
Richard Feasey, Public Policy Director, Vodafone
Pearse O'Donohue, Head of Unit, Radio Spectrum Policy, DG Information Society and Media, European Commission
Gerard Boogert, NGA Programme Manager, OPTA (Dutch Telecoms Regulator)



Back to ECTA Portal Home Page

Back to Top

Top Page last revision: 02 Dec 2009
© 2006 ECTA
ESY Web Builder Login

Key Conference Sponsor: KPMG Associate Conference Sponsor:Bird & BirdSquire, Sanders & DempseySquire, Sanders & Dempsey